Mukurti forest,

Give me an inch of space near the wildflowers
And let me in on your secrets
…Let me span the length of the tallest of pine trees
And touch every peeling old bark

Take me high up to those crazy silvery heights
where the winds and the trees are dancing
…Can I play dead with all the fallen branches
And learn the trick of staying so alive

Let me lie long on these enchanted grounds
Strewn soft with brown pine needles
…Let me burst forth, tall, as silver-ochre fireworks
And be the flowers of your luscious weeds

Can I hover still among your tall wild grasses
And watch the showy rhododendron bloom?
…Let me be a pebble in the clear sparkling streams
And let sunlight create mosaic art with me

…Grant me a thousand such wishes

Leave a Reply

